Date: 4th Dec 2020
L&DCC is not responsible for Third Party websites

AGM installs CHARLIE O'MAHONY as NEW PRESIDENT and thanks ERIC HADFIELD for huge contribution.

Date: 17th January 2020

 AGM installs CHARLIE O'MAHONY as NEW PRESIDENT and thanks ERIC HADFIELD for huge contribution.

Excellent meeting makes few changes ( to be published in Admin Docs)

This year’s Annual General Meeting (14 January) saw relatively few changes to rules and regulations but was an occasion to recognise the significant contributions of a number of officials as well as the election of a new President.

Retiring President Eric Hadfield, a former player (with Northern CC), Official, Umpire, League Fixture and Registration Secretary, League Secretary and President (since 2007) was given a huge vote of thanks by all present for his long standing contribution to the Comp. He was voted in as a Life Vice President, only the second such individual to receive such an honour after Harold Wolfe.

Charlie O’Mahony was unanimously elected as the new President after a long career associated with the Liverpool Competition, Merseyside Cricket and Lancashire Age Group Cricket. He began with Aigburth CC before moving to Sefton CC, now Sefton Park CC, where after many years looking after the ground, he can still be found helping out when necessary. On accepting the position, Charlie pledged his full support for the Competition and brought the house down when he said he was particularly pleased to receive such an honour before he was dead!

Richard McCullagh on his retiral as Disciplinary Chairman was thanked for his long-standing work with the League, and for his measured and thoughtful approach to matters of discipline. The meeting confirmed the Judge as a Vice-President. The meeting later elected another member of the Judiciary, Brian Cummings QC, as the new Disciplinary Chairman.

The work of both David Dunkley and John Isterling, associated with clubs in the Liverpool Competition and Merseyside Cricket and with activities at County level, was recognised with their election as Vice Presidents.   

Amongst the few changes, the meeting voted to introduce a reduction of points system for two transgressions, failing to attend statutory League meetings and captain’s failure to submit Umpires marks cards. It was also agreed to modify the award of batting bonus points in 2nd and 3rd X1 games changing the first target from 100 to 75 and every 25 runs thereafter.

The league season starts on Saturday 25 April through to Saturday 19 September.

Update: Copies of the Minutes have now been sent to all members clubs.

Back to top